Sanity is the resource that gates almost everything you do in Arknights: Endfield: every operation you run, every material you farm, and even the yield you get out of transmuting. Running dry is the single most common reason a session ends early, so knowing what actually restores Sanity (and what only looks like it should) saves a lot of wasted runs.
What Sanity is
Our item database defines it plainly:
Sanity is spent on stages and on Sanity-consuming game modes, and it is tracked by the daily task list. In the [Sketches of Lost Heirlooms] update the [Spend 60 Sanity points] and [Spend 120 Sanity points] daily tasks each had their Activity Points award raised from 10 to 20, which tells you how central the number is to routine play.
It also feeds the [Transmute] feature. The [Homecoming] update notes say that transmuting "certain high-tier materials into lower-tier ones" lets you "Consume Sanity" to "further increase the transmutation yield", so Sanity is not only a stage entry fee.
You can even watch the number while logged out: the GRYPHLINK launcher's real-time data panel shows Sanity (alongside Daily Activity Points and Weekly Routine) without opening the game.
Every item that restores Sanity
Five items in our database state a specific Sanity value in their description, plus one limited-time syrup that does not.
| Item | Restores | Rarity | Type |
|---|---|---|---|
| Emergency Sanity Sample | 10 Sanity | 4 | LTO Sanity Meds |
| Sanity Syrup | 40 Sanity | 4 | Sanity Meds |
| Emergency Sanity Booster | 40 Sanity | 4 | LTO Sanity Meds |
| Emergency Sanity Concentrate | 100 Sanity | 4 | LTO Sanity Meds |
| Sanity Essence | 120 Sanity | 4 | Sanity Meds |
| LTO Sanity Syrup | not stated | 4 | LTO Sanity Meds |
Sanity Essence is the largest single restore in the data at 120 Sanity, but our records do not explain how the Sanity Extractor converts Sanity into it (see the last section). The LTO Sanity Syrup's description reads only "Use this to recover Sanity" โ it omits a number, so we do not quote one.
The named 40-Sanity items
Most of the restore items are 5-star "Sanity Meds" that each recover 40 Sanity and carry a food or gift name rather than a generic one. The internal item IDs tie several of them to a specific operator; the table below matches those codes against our operator database, so treat the names as our reading of the ID rather than an in-game label.
| Item | Operator / event (from our item ID) |
|---|---|
| Seasalt Ice Cream | Laevatain |
| Strawberry Crepe | Yvonne |
| Chestnut Honey | Gilberta |
| Dried Fin | Tangtang |
| Apple Slices | Rossi |
| Wholly-Braised Sprout [can] | Zhuang Fangyi |
| Lungclaw Ultra-E | Mifu |
| Devilโs Licorice Drops | Camille |
| Osmanthus Rice Cake | Arcane |
| Handmade Star Candy | liino (not in our character database) |
| Springfest Pastry (Joy) | Springfest event |
| Springfest Pastry (Wealth) | Springfest event |
| Springfest Pastry (Fortune) | Springfest event |
| Orbital Wings | Universe series (from ID) |
| Year 1 Birthday Cake | Birthday feature |
Our item records store a name, a one-line description ("Use this to recover 40 Sanity."), a rarity and an icon โ nothing else. There is no source field, so we cannot tell you which mail, event or shop each of these came from. Handmade Star Candy carries the code liino, which has no matching entry in our character database.
Sanity Usage Permit: double rewards, not more Sanity
The Sanity Usage Permit is the one item people most often confuse with a refill. It is not. Its description reads:
In other words it spends 2ร Sanity for 2ร the loot, which is a way to convert a surplus into progression faster โ the opposite job from a recovery item. It is a 4-star Valuable item, and the [Dreamscape of Wind and Snow] notes record that its Monthly Pass label was corrected from "[Sanity Sanity Usage Permit]" to "[Sanity Usage Permit]".
| Source (from official update notes) | Detail |
|---|---|
| Monthly Pass daily rewards | +4 per day (added in the [At the Wake of Spring] update) |
| Protocol Pass cycle rewards | [Originium Supply] and [Protocol Customized] tiers |
| Regional Development โ Stock Redistribution | purchasable (more stock added in [At the Wake of Spring]) |
| [Sanity Supply] limited-time event | daily missions during the event window |
| Log-in events | e.g. [Pristine Monthly Pass Tribute]: [Sanity Usage Permit]ร120 total |
The [Sanity Supply] limited-time event
Sanity Supply is the recurring event that hands out both a Usage Permit and an Emergency Sanity Booster. It was renamed from [Sanity Discount] in [At the Wake of Spring], and the official description has stayed the same since: "During the event, complete specified missions every day to claim Sanity Supply rewards: [Sanity Usage Permit] and [Emergency Sanity Booster]."
It runs in short windows, and several versions list two:
| Window (Asia server) | Version |
|---|---|
| May 7 โ May 14, 2026 | [At the Wake of Spring] |
| May 29 โ Jun 5, 2026 | [At the Wake of Spring] |
| Jul 9 โ Jul 16, 2026 | [Sketches of Lost Heirlooms] |
| Aug 2 โ Aug 9, 2026 | [Homecoming] |
| Aug 26 โ Sep 2, 2026 | [Homecoming] |
| Sep 17 โ Sep 24, 2026 | [Dreamscape of Wind and Snow] |
| Oct 8 โ Oct 15, 2026 | [Dreamscape of Wind and Snow] |
Americas / Europe windows start and end a few hours earlier than the Asia times above. The most recent listed window, Oct 8 โ Oct 15, 2026, comes from the [Dreamscape of Wind and Snow] notes and is the next one due at the time of writing.
Limited-time (LTO) Sanity items
A separate family of sanity items is flagged as limited-time. Each of their descriptions ends with "This item also has an expiration date."
| Item | Restores |
|---|---|
| LTO Sanity Syrup | not stated |
| Emergency Sanity Sample | 10 Sanity |
| Emergency Sanity Booster | 40 Sanity |
| Emergency Sanity Concentrate | 100 Sanity |
Our data does not store the actual expiry dates, so check them in-game before you sit on a stash.
Sanity Extractor and Sanity Essence
Two of the more unusual entries are a pair: the Sanity Extractor, described as "Fill this with Sanity to convert it into Sanity Essence", and the Sanity Essence, which restores 120 Sanity. Our data gives the conversion in both directions but not the rate, so we cannot say how much Sanity the Extractor consumes per Essence.
What our data does not cover
- No Sanity cap or regeneration rate. Our records describe the currency and the items, not the numbers behind them.
- No per-item sources. Sanity meds store no "obtained from" field, so the origin of each named food is not recorded.
- No expiry dates for the LTO items, and no conversion rate for the Sanity Extractor.
- No drop rates, and no schedule for the Sanity Supply event beyond the windows already published in official notes.
For the combat side of consumables, including heals and buffs that use the same item database, see our tactical items guide. For the Regional Development shop that sells Usage Permits, see the Stock Redistribution guide. You can browse the full item list at /items/.